Welcome to CIA World Accordion Orchestra III
Accordion Enthusiasts from Around the World
are invited
to join the World Accordion Orchestra III.

Enjoy participating in a fun, high quality musical event.

Following the very successful inaugural World Accordion Orchestra debut performance at the Coupe Mondiale 2007 under the Musical Direction of Joan Sommers, and the CIA World Accordion Orchestra II in Scotland in 2008, we are delighted to announce that the 'CIA World Accordion Orchestra III' is to be held during the 2009 Coupe Mondiale with the performance at the Finale Concert in the famed Bruce Mason Center. We would like to welcome you to this exciting international accordion event and encourage your participation in this historic 'World Accordion Orchestra III'!

The members of the 'CIA World Accordion Orchestra III' will again include musicians from many different countries – some of whom are members of organized accordion orchestras invited to perform during the schedule of the Coupe Mondiale. Other members are invited professional individuals from throughout the world. Many of these players hold offices in the Confédération Internationale des Accordéonistes or serve in a great variety of positions in the accordion organizations of their own countries as well as delegates to the CIA World Congress held during the Coupe Mondiale. Kevin Friedrich, President of the CIA will serve as Concertmaster.

The CIA World Accordion Orchestra III will be conducted by two renowned international conductors: Joan C. Sommers (USA) and Gary Daverne (New Zealand).
Joan C. Sommers
Gary Daverne
(New Zealand)

Participants are required to be Registered and to attend two mandatory rehearsals for the event.

  • Mandatory Rehearsal: Friday, 28 August 2009 - 11:00 to 13:00 hours
  • Mandatory Rehearsal: Saturday, 29 August 2009 - 16:00 to 18:00 hours
  • Performance: Saturday, 29 August 2009 - 20:00 hours
  • Mandatory Coupe Mondiale and Festival Registration of each player

The music is:

Auckland March composed by Gary Daverne
A Pocket Overture composed by Gary Daverne
Suite from Video Games Live arranged by Joan C Sommers
Radetsky March by Johann Strauss Snr.

Home Page Press Information Accommodation Schedule of Events
General Guidelines Contact Welcome to New Zealand CIA Website